Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Hayashi Sushi & Grill. We'd love to have your feedback!

Newport News, VA

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

Which dish or item did you try?

You are submitting your information to Hayashi Sushi & Grill and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu and .

Our Latest Reviews

Kelisha 4 days ago

Hibachi Noodle

DELICIOUS, MY GO TO WHEN I WANT A NICE NOODLE DISH

Teresa 8 days ago

Sashimi App

Very good, i loved all of it. Great portions if you are going to have a big meal.

Hiz1stluv 11 days ago

Steak (New York Strip) Lunch

Every time I come it's an amazing experience. The atmosphere, the aroma, the staff, & the music the list goes on, I don't brag much about food, but Hayashi Grill is the best Sushi/Grill on this side of the peninsula. 10/10

Essence 20 days ago

Steak (New York Strip) Dinner

My favorite is the shrimp with scallops! I order here at least twice a week. Definitely a family favorite!

Cindy 27 days ago

Lobster Tail Dinner

Best Japanese restaurant around. Great food, service and hibachi chefs. Our favorite place to eat.

Priya 28 days ago

White Fish Chips

This was the first time I tried this and it was a bite that just exploded with umami flavours in my mouth. I absolutely savoured and enjoyed this dish. It was a very pleasant surprise indeed.

Laura about 1 month ago

Delta Force

Even though the Delta Force is one of the deep fried options, it still feels light and tastes delicious! The cream cheese melts around the eel and crab combined with the lightly battered exterior creates a slightly cheesy and perfectly crunchy bite. Plus the zig zags of wasabi mayo and eel sauce add a perfect zesty balance to the entire roll. You'll definitely want to try this roll!

Krystle about 1 month ago

Shrimp Dinner

The shrimp hibachi dinner was absolutely amazing. Not only was it tasty but it was packaged perfectly. I had enough food for 3 meals. I'm so glad I can order online now.

Christopher about 1 month ago

Lamb Marinate in Miso

Due to the covid-19 , it definitely makes dinning out less pleasurable as well as comfortable. This was my first time ordering the lamb at this establishment. The presentation was appealing , the lamb had lots of flavor , and the Miso marinade just added enough flavor to make this dish amazing. The vegetables added a warm and colorful and crispy texture to the presentation.. I would very likely come back for this dish. Four out of five stars. Would of been a five , If the meal came out more warmer. Enjoy!!

Leah about 2 months ago

Sashimi Taco

Amazing! Crave these weekly!!

Jomayra about 2 months ago

Chicken Teriyaki Lunch Plate

Loved every second of each bite!

Shawn about 2 months ago

Small & Lite

Had the spicy tuna and it was great. Just the right amount of spicy heat. The seaweed salad and the fresh spring roll were absolutely delicious. This will become my go-to for lunch.

Jomayra about 2 months ago

Mango

AAAAHHHH MMMAZZEEEEE INNNG. It's my treat to myself once a month

Copelandrheallytee 2 months ago

Chicken Clear Noodle Soup

EXCELLENT!!! STAFF IS BEYOND PROFESSIONAL AND FRIENDLY !! FOOD WAS AMAZING !!

Martin 2 months ago

Filet Mignon Steak Dinner

We both had it. My wife had add shrimp and I added scallops. The presentation was excellent and there was more than enough food. Everything was simply delicious! We love this place.

Pamela 2 months ago

Steak (New York Strip) Dinner

hibachi grill dinner. Our food was fantastic...loved the guy cooking in front of us and did a wonderful show with his talents. we will definitely be back. Also enjoyed the way we got to celebrate our loved ones who had a birthday.

Kellygrrreen 2 months ago

*Suki

Delicious as always. We sat in the dining area instead of our favorite spot in the bar but we are delighted to be able to go and have dinner together as father and daughter. Thanks for keeping us safe and fed.

Leadingladyrita757 2 months ago

Shrimp Tempura Roll

We came for my daughter's 20th birthday and we LOVED it! Food, fun and fantastic staff!!! We'll be back soon...

Crystal 3 months ago

Amanda

Food presentation was great, amazing flavor

Miguel 3 months ago

Tuna Tataki Entree

Very delicious! Had a great sauce and it was cooked perfectly

Debra 6 days ago

Special 3 for $39

Share the three special rolls with a friend - you get two salads! With so many choices to make a truly memorable combo, you can't go wrong. Most creative sushi on the Peninsula! Even as takeout, the presentation was elegant. My "favorite" keeps changing because they're all so good - but definitely try the Area 51 roll.

Crystal 10 days ago

Kid's Shrimp

Food was delicious

John 15 days ago

Shrimp Dinner

Excellent

Tammi 27 days ago

*Spicy Tuna

This is my go-to at Hayashi but I also love the hibachi. I tried the spring rolls for the first time and they were also very yummy!

Samantha 28 days ago

Akiama

Always get the dynamite, volcano and Akiama from the sushi list. It's always made lovely and package perfectly. Customer service is always friendly. Absolutely live it here!

Middcrystal9 30 days ago

Hama Calamari

The Calamari is sheer heaven. A perfect beginning to a wonderful dinner every single time.

Laura about 1 month ago

Fried Rice

Hayashi has the absolute best fried rice in the Hampton Roads. Even when you can't dine in for Hibachi, ordering the fried rice to go is just as good- don't forget to ask for yum yum sauce! It pairs perfectly with the fried rice.

Ari about 1 month ago

Beef Teriyaki Lunch Plate

All the staff and grill chef were very welcoming and nice. All staff took Covid precautions. I had a beef plate from the grill. The steak was nice and juicy. Loved the sauce and fried rice.

Grant about 2 months ago

Kani

Awesome crab sushi

Jomayra about 2 months ago

Shrimp Teriyaki Lunch Plate

Definitely a favorite and always a good time!

Shawn about 2 months ago

Stir Fried Bento

Delicious as always

Shawn about 2 months ago

Vegetable Tempura

The Vegetable Tempura was wonderful. Very crispy and full of flavor.

Audra about 2 months ago

Pick 2 Rolls

Sushi is always fresh. Hands down the best sushi place. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Betsy 2 months ago

Shrimp and Vegetable Tempura Combo

This dish is light and crispy. You get the fresh taste of the veggie. Great size of shrimp too!

Martin 2 months ago

*Rainbow

Great Rainbow Roll!

Latilya 2 months ago

Double Choice

Food is always delicious

Crystal 2 months ago

Shrimp Dinner

Food was excellent as waa our chef. We were celebrating my son's 27th birthday and it was a great time

Earthenamberarts 3 months ago

Yellowtail Te-Maki

5 stars is never enough! *I've been a long term client for years, have had every item on the menu and always come back for their superbly cut and high quality sushi. Look no farther for an artistic private atmosphere with some of the best sushi in the tidewater area!

Jesus 3 months ago

Chicken Dinner

best chicken ive ever had

Desssy 3 months ago

Steak (New York Strip) Lunch

Amazing fresh food every time! Perfect portions and well seasoned. My favorite place to go!



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

September 2020:
Carol, Stroud's BBQ
Daytona Beach Shores, FL

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA