Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Hayashi Sushi & Grill. We'd love to have your feedback!

Newport News, VA

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

Which dish or item did you try?

You are submitting your information to Hayashi Sushi & Grill and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu and .

Our Latest Reviews

Ladyliiz 2 days ago

Teppan Sukiyaki Steak Dinner

Delicious! First of all, everything my family eats here is excellent. And many go for combo meals (why not?). But I love love love the Teppan Sukiyaki Steak. The meat is tender, the flavoring delicious and the mushrooms - my favorite way to eat them. The hibachi grill experience is not just food, it is also entertainment. This, coupled with the generous portions at lunch or dinner, make it a deal well worth eating for special occasions or on a regular Tuesday!

Mark 8 days ago

Ginger Chicken

Amazing meal. Cannot wait until next time

Lewis 9 days ago

Shrimp Tempura Roll

This Shrimp tempura roll was so good! The sushi we get from Hayashi is always very delicious. I would highly recommend their sushi if you're not in the mood for the full hibachi experience.

Akia 22 days ago

Special 3 for $39

Hayashi for the win! Omg I forgot just how delicious their sushi was to enjoy. It had been several years of me visiting and they have won me over again with the Jonathan roll and spicy scallop roll. Two of my absolute favorites. Everything was fresh and my order was ready at the prompt time stated online! Thanks again guys!

Gmiddleton7233 23 days ago

Akiama

This was my first time trying it and I was not disappointed. A warm rice roll mixed, a slice of salmon on top and crabmeat in the middle. It was very good. I will definitely be ordering it from now on.

Yordennisjs 24 days ago

*California Sunset

Very fresh, with a very taste and taste texture.

Jomayra about 1 month ago

Pick 2 Rolls

Best sushi in town.

Kelisha about 1 month ago

Hibachi Noodle

DELICIOUS, MY GO TO WHEN I WANT A NICE NOODLE DISH

Teresa about 2 months ago

Sashimi App

Very good, i loved all of it. Great portions if you are going to have a big meal.

Hiz1stluv about 2 months ago

Steak (New York Strip) Lunch

Every time I come it's an amazing experience. The atmosphere, the aroma, the staff, & the music the list goes on, I don't brag much about food, but Hayashi Grill is the best Sushi/Grill on this side of the peninsula. 10/10

Essence about 2 months ago

Steak (New York Strip) Dinner

My favorite is the shrimp with scallops! I order here at least twice a week. Definitely a family favorite!

Cindy 2 months ago

Lobster Tail Dinner

Best Japanese restaurant around. Great food, service and hibachi chefs. Our favorite place to eat.

Priya 2 months ago

White Fish Chips

This was the first time I tried this and it was a bite that just exploded with umami flavours in my mouth. I absolutely savoured and enjoyed this dish. It was a very pleasant surprise indeed.

Laura 2 months ago

Delta Force

Even though the Delta Force is one of the deep fried options, it still feels light and tastes delicious! The cream cheese melts around the eel and crab combined with the lightly battered exterior creates a slightly cheesy and perfectly crunchy bite. Plus the zig zags of wasabi mayo and eel sauce add a perfect zesty balance to the entire roll. You'll definitely want to try this roll!

Krystle 2 months ago

Shrimp Dinner

The shrimp hibachi dinner was absolutely amazing. Not only was it tasty but it was packaged perfectly. I had enough food for 3 meals. I'm so glad I can order online now.

Christopher 3 months ago

Lamb Marinate in Miso

Due to the covid-19 , it definitely makes dinning out less pleasurable as well as comfortable. This was my first time ordering the lamb at this establishment. The presentation was appealing , the lamb had lots of flavor , and the Miso marinade just added enough flavor to make this dish amazing. The vegetables added a warm and colorful and crispy texture to the presentation.. I would very likely come back for this dish. Four out of five stars. Would of been a five , If the meal came out more warmer. Enjoy!!

Leah 3 months ago

Sashimi Taco

Amazing! Crave these weekly!!

Jomayra 3 months ago

Chicken Teriyaki Lunch Plate

Loved every second of each bite!

Shawn 3 months ago

Small & Lite

Had the spicy tuna and it was great. Just the right amount of spicy heat. The seaweed salad and the fresh spring roll were absolutely delicious. This will become my go-to for lunch.

Jomayra 3 months ago

Mango

AAAAHHHH MMMAZZEEEEE INNNG. It's my treat to myself once a month

Jeffrey 4 days ago

Spider

Great food and great takeout service. We will be back!

Lewis 9 days ago

Steak (New York Strip) Dinner

Whenever my family eats at Hayashi whether it's the full hibachi experience or take out, the food never disappoints. Hayashi is one of our favorite restaurants to eat at. The atmosphere is always very nice with a family vibe.

Stellachialin 11 days ago

Red Dragon

Absolutely delicious. Love the subtle smoked salmon taste.

Guest 23 days ago

Akiama

This was my first time trying it and I was not disappointed. A warm rice roll, a slice of salmon on top and crabmeat in the middle. It was very good. I will definitely be ordering it from now on.

Jose 24 days ago

Special Boat for Two

It was excellent, tuna was awesome

Wyatt 25 days ago

Special 3 for $39

My wife and I have been going here for years. It was actually our first date and turned out to be the place that I proposed to her. You couldn't ask for a better atmosphere to eat. It is tranquil and set up for perfection. The sushi is the best in this area. With all of the different special rolls you can choose from , you are able to try a variety that you will not be disappointed in. If your not a sushi lover, there are plenty of other items that will blow your mind. From lobster , chicken filet mignon and many more options. As far as the dining areas the hibachi area is very special giving you a little bit of entertainment while enjoying your delicious meal. The dining area is relaxing and can give you the perfect setting to enjoy conversation with your date and/ or your family. This restaurant is one of our favorites and we promise you will not be disappointed on giving it a try .

Erick about 1 month ago

Steak (New York Strip) Lunch

I enjoy getting this hibachi. It's fulfilling and it's cooked correctly everytime ! If you're interested in a great hibachi come to Hayashi!

Debra about 1 month ago

Special 3 for $39

Share the three special rolls with a friend - you get two salads! With so many choices to make a truly memorable combo, you can't go wrong. Most creative sushi on the Peninsula! Even as takeout, the presentation was elegant. My "favorite" keeps changing because they're all so good - but definitely try the Area 51 roll.

Crystal about 2 months ago

Kid's Shrimp

Food was delicious

John about 2 months ago

Shrimp Dinner

Excellent

Tammi 2 months ago

*Spicy Tuna

This is my go-to at Hayashi but I also love the hibachi. I tried the spring rolls for the first time and they were also very yummy!

Samantha 2 months ago

Akiama

Always get the dynamite, volcano and Akiama from the sushi list. It's always made lovely and package perfectly. Customer service is always friendly. Absolutely live it here!

Middcrystal9 2 months ago

Hama Calamari

The Calamari is sheer heaven. A perfect beginning to a wonderful dinner every single time.

Laura 2 months ago

Fried Rice

Hayashi has the absolute best fried rice in the Hampton Roads. Even when you can't dine in for Hibachi, ordering the fried rice to go is just as good- don't forget to ask for yum yum sauce! It pairs perfectly with the fried rice.

Ari 2 months ago

Beef Teriyaki Lunch Plate

All the staff and grill chef were very welcoming and nice. All staff took Covid precautions. I had a beef plate from the grill. The steak was nice and juicy. Loved the sauce and fried rice.

Grant 3 months ago

Kani

Awesome crab sushi

Jomayra 3 months ago

Shrimp Teriyaki Lunch Plate

Definitely a favorite and always a good time!

Shawn 3 months ago

Stir Fried Bento

Delicious as always

Shawn 3 months ago

Vegetable Tempura

The Vegetable Tempura was wonderful. Very crispy and full of flavor.

Audra 3 months ago

Pick 2 Rolls

Sushi is always fresh. Hands down the best sushi place. Staff is very friendly and helpful.



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

October 2020:
Charn, Vitaly
Costa Mesa, CA

September 2020:
Carol, Stroud's BBQ
Daytona Beach Shores, FL

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA